Underage National League Awards 2017

Limerick FC, in association with the LWSSL, held an awards night at the Maldron Hotel on Friday, where our young Superblues received accolades at Under-19, Under-17 and Under-15 level, as well as the announcement of our Underage National League Overall Player of the Year.

Under-19 Player of the Year Tommy Holland (work), and runner-up in the Under-17 category Lee Devitt (abroad) were unable to make the evening.

Our Underage National League Overall Player of the Year is Barry Cotter! Barry arrived at the club in 2015 as a forward but has excelled in defence. He has done nothing but improve over the past two years, and his performance saw him become a first-team regular in recent months, making 11 league appearances since May.

Our Under-15 Player of the Year is Adam Fitzpatrick. The midfielder captained the team and his leadership abilities helped Limerick enjoy a fine season. His wonder-double in the opening-day win over Waterford lit up Limerick’s first ever game at this level.

Runner-up in our Under-15 category was midfielder Filip Mostowy. Filip has been at the club for a number of seasons and has continued to improve. He produced fine performances throughout the campaign and hit six goals for Limerick.

Second runner-up in our Under-15 category was defender Scott Kirwan. Like a number at this level, Scott was new to the club but adjusted very well to the standard, with his performances warranting this award, as Limerick narrowly missed out on quarter-finals.

Our Under-17 Player of the Year is Tomás O’Connor. Tomás joined the club in summer 2015 and, still only 16, has represented the club at LDSL and National League level to Under-19 as well as being a standout performer for first team in June friendly

Second runner-up in our Under-17 category was goalkeeper Michael Garrihy. Michael was new to the club this season but adjusted very well with his all-round attitude to the game fantastic. Consistently good, performance levels rose through the season.

Runner-up in the Under-19 category was defender Alan Murphy, who adapted well in different positions at the level this year and earned a first-team start under Neil McDonald in the final game of the season away to Shamrock Rovers.

Second runner-up in the Under-19 category was defender Killian Brouder, who started every game at the level when available as well as forming part of Neil McDonald’s first-team squad.

Group shot of our Under-19, Under-17 and Under-15 award winners, with Limerick FC Academy Directory Willie Boland.

Awards Date: Friday 17 November 2017