Under 20 quarter final: UCD 2 – 2 Limerick Limerick bow out after penalty shootout

UCD 2 – 2 Limerick (AET)
UCD win 7-6 on penalties
Saturday 31st October 2009

UCD are firm favorites to win out this tournament, but Limerick FC matched them all the way on Saturday as an exciting game was settled with a penalty shoot out.

UCD started strongly and went ahead after 9 minutes when Sean Heuston headed in from a corner. However, Limerick settled to their task and had opportunities to score before half time, most notably when Cian Doyle found space on the edge of the area to send David Njuki in, but his shot was well saved by the UCD keeper.
Half time: UCD 1 Limerick FC 0

Early in the second half Ward played a dangerous ball across the Limerick FC six yard line and in a desperate attempt to clear Gavin Roche gave away a penalty. Brian Collopy made a terrific save down to his right and lifted the ball over the bar. Shortly after, UCD made it 2-0 with a break down the right, Gavin Fogerty finishing to the net. Limerick brought on Derek Daly and Peter Balogh for Daniel Clinton and Cian Doyle and began to dominate the game with the aid of a strong wind. Ian Storan was just wide of the left upright from a free after Peter Balogh was fouled. Limerick’s persistence paid off when Bobby Tier headed in at the back post on 65 minutes. On 75 minutes David McGrath found David Njuki on the right side of the area and he blasted a shot to the roof of the net for 2-2. However, Limerick’s rhythm was broken when the referee took the teams off for 15 minutes as the heavens opened with a thunder shower of hail stones.
Full time: UCD 2 Limerick FC 2

In extra time both teams had opportunity to win it. David Njuki brought a superb full length save from the UCD keeper just before half time. Neither team could break the deadlock and it was down to dreaded penalties. Brian Collopy saved one and got his hand to three others as it took 8 penalties from each team to decide a winner. Limerick penalty scorers were: Dean Finnan, David McGrath, Gavin Roche, Bobby Tier, Peter Balogh and Ian Storan.

Limerick FC: Brian Collopy, Tomas Barrett (Jack Allen), Ian Storan, Gavin Roche, Darren Lynch, Daniel Clinton (Derek Daly), Bobby Tier, Cian Doyle (Peter Balogh), Dean Finnan, David Njuki, David McGrath.
Unused Subs: Michael Sheehan, Cillian O’Connor, Ed Gallagher, Aaron Leahy.