U20 Limerick FC 1 – 2 Salthill Devon

Dr Tony O’Neill Under 20 Championship

Limerick Scorer: Cillian O’Connor.

Sunday 26th September 2010

Sunday’s game brought the curtain down on Limerick FC’s Under 20 season. Limerick FC, coached by Barry Lynch, had an outside chance of making the knockout stages, while Salthill Devon knew that with a win they would top the group (for the time being).

The home side started lively and after 5 minutes the ball was played to Cillian O’Connor, whose shot from outside the area rifled into the top corner for a superb goal. Salthill Devon were dangerous on the break and on 15 minutes Robert Shier in the Limerick FC goal denied Gary Dolan with a good save at the near post. Limerick FC nearly doubled their lead when Adam Mitchell’s long range shot went over off the top of the crossbar. Salthill Devon came more into the game and on the half hour a good interchange of passing up the left opened up the home defence and when the ball was switched to the right Daryl Horgan was perfectly placed to volley high into the roof of the Limerick net. The half finished 1-1.

At half-time David Quinn replaced Robert Shier in goal and shortly after Shane Mulready came on in place of Fatmadh Dunisha. In this half Salthill Devon started the brighter, but it was 30 minutes before they breached the Limerick defence. Ronan Conlon’s shot was blocked by David Quinn, who failed to hold the ball and Garry Dolan was on hand to force the ball over the line to give Salthill Devon a 2-1 advantage. Shortly after Alan Kelly put a great ball over the top for Brian McGorrian to run onto only for Ronan Bourke in the Salthill goal to save with his legs. The Salthill defence stood up to an onslaught on their goal for the last 10 minutes as they ran out 2-1 winners.

The experience of playing in the Under 20 national league will stand to this very young side when most of them will play in the inaugural Under 19 league next season. It is also very pleasing to note that many of the original Under 20 squad moved up to join the first team squad during the season. Players such as Philip Lavin, Shane Cusack, Andrew Bhandarkar and James O’Brien have been on the periphery of the first team squad, while Garbhan Coughlan, Lee O’Mara and David O’Leary made their League of Ireland debuts.

Limerick FC: Robert Shier (David Quinn), Lee O’Mara, Ed Gallagher, Sean O’Callaghan, Philip Lavin, Michael Sheehan, Alan Kelly, Adam Mitchell, Brian McGorrian, Cillian O’Connor, Fatmadh Dunisha (Shane Mulready). Unused Subs: David Donnan, Darren O’Neill.

Salthill Devon: Ronan Burke, Brian Conlon, Tommy Bradshaw, Cian Fadden, Conor Murray, Daryl Horgan, Fergus Kerrigan, Ronan Conlon, Brian Gaffney, Garry Dolan, Bryan O’Grady. Subs: Ronan Geraghty, Dermuid Daniels, Kieran Stanton and Colum Smyth.

Match Report by Michael O’Sullivan