U17 Report: Limerick Suffer Heavy Defeat At Cabinteely

U17 Report: Limerick Suffer Heavy Defeat At Cabinteely

Limerick fell to a heavy defeat by Cabinteely in the Under-17 National League at Stradbrook on Saturday afternoon, going down 7-1 having taken the lead.

The young Shannonsiders were without Ger Barry and Jesse Stafford-Lacey through illness and injury respectively, but they started brightly and hit the front early on when Barry Cotter got on the end of a superb Jack Lynch pass and fired past the ‘keeper.

Cabinteely, though, recovered well and having created some chances they were almost level when they appeared to be heading for a one-on-one with Cory McManus only for Lynch to get back and make a fantastic last-ditch challenge.

However, the Dubliners were back on level terms when Seán Madigan was harshly adjudged to have committed a foul in the box and the resultant spot-kick was converted. Cabinteely went ahead moments later when a through-ball was latched onto, with their striker finishing well.

Things got worse for Limerick when Lynch had to be withdrawn after a very late challenge, with Lee Wall replacing him after just returning from injury himself.

Into the second half, Dave Dineen’s side did not start as well as they had in the opening period, and they were severely punished by Cabinteely who went on to fire in five unanswered goals.

On a good note, Patrick McDonagh made his return from injury and looked bright with some dangerous darting runs. Limerick almost pulled a goal back when captain Kevin Fitzgerald struck a free-kick from the edge of the area off the post, but his afternoon was to end on a sour note as he was sent-off for a second bookable offence.

Limerick now prepare for another trip to the capital when they visit UCD on Sunday. Kick-off at the AUL Complex is 2pm.

Limerick: Cory McManus, Seán Madigan, Kevin Fitzgerald ©, Jack Lynch, Stephen Nolan, Brandon O’Halloran, Aaron Fitzgerald, Karl O’Sullivan, Barry Cotter, Shane Fletcher, Andy Quaid. Goal: B Cotter. Subs: Matthew Dawson-Furey (GK), Brandon Murphy, Lee Wall, Patrick McDonagh, Dave Sweeney.

Report Date: Saturday 19 September 2015