Squad News: A Champ squad update; Futsal Championship begins

League of Ireland Futsal Championship begins

Limerick FC’s first competitive match this season will take place this Saturday at UL Arena when the League of Ireland Futsal Championship gets under way. Cork City provide the opposition, kick-off is at 1:00pm. Limerick’s Futsal team is coached by Barry Lynch. The Limerick squad will include some of the younger players and give many of them their first chance to impress in the Blue jersey.

2010 A Championship squad update

Limerick FC is delighted to announce the signing of highly promising 17-year-old Ian Moore. For the Pallaskenry native’s family this was a particularly proud moment as his father Pat was a former committee member of Limerick FC and his grandfather Paddy was a founding member of Hyde Rangers AFC. Ian joined Pat Scully and the rest of the Limerick FC squad for pre-season training over the weekend and was delighted to sign for the Club, having grown up a supporter of the Super Blues, where he was ballboy on a number of occasions. His father Pat recalled that Ian would always run onto the pitch at half-time with a ball to score in the Limerick goals – now he has the chance to do it for real.

Ian spent last season in Cork where he was part of the Cork city FÁS soccer scheme. He will go straight into the A Championship squad and will also be eligible for the Under 19 squad when the League Of Ireland championship begins this summer.

The signing of Ian Moore further strengthens the current squad who will be challenging strongly for honours on six fronts this coming season. Coming fresh on the heels of the signatures of Shane Clarke and Jeffrey Judge the future looks very bright indeed for Limerick FC. Limerick FC’s policy of bringing the most talented young players in the region to the Club is sure to reap rewards in the near future.

While Pat Scully will be concentrating on winning promotion back to the top tier of Irish football he will also be keeping a very close eye on the development of all the young players at his disposal over the coming months.

Ian joins the following players who have signed for the A Championship team:

  • Joe Adibekov
  • Jack Allen
  • Peter Balogh
  • Daniel Clinton
  • Derek Daly
  • Cian Doyle
  • Dean Finnan
  • Ed Gallagher
  • Aaron Leahy
  • Darren Lynch
  • David Njuki
  • Cillian O’Connor
  • Alex Scully
  • Michael Sheehan
  • Nigel Stanley
  • Ian Storan