Limerick FC 4 – 1 Tralee Dynamos

Dr Tony O’Neill Under 19 Championship – Southern Division


Limerick Scorers: Cian Collins, Andrew Cowpar, Fatmadh Dunisha, Steven McGann.

Saturday 5th November 2011

Limerick FC go top of the Under 19 Southern Division after this victory over Tralee Dynamos under lights at Aisling Annacotty.

Tralee Dynamos were the first to create a clear cut chance when Danny Roche was played in for a one-on-one with Limerick keeper Steven Walsh. Walsh stayed up and blocked the shot. It rebounded to Roche whose second attempt was cleared off the line by Tino Nzvaura. After this Limerick FC dominated the half but in spite of the efforts by Coughlan twice and Collins the score remained 0-0 until the 40th minute. As Andrew Cowpar attempted to clear, the ball rebounded off a Tralee player back over the Limerick defence for Darren O’Brien to race clear and strike a well taken goal.

Limerick rallied and within 3 minutes Cian Collins scored from close range after good play by Garbhan Coughlan.

10 minutes into the second half Limerick FC took the lead and never looked in any danger of losing the game after that. A corner by James McGrath was fisted clear by White in the Tralee goal; it fell to Garbhan Coughlan who played it back into the goalmouth for Cowpar to score from close range. Shortly after, an off the ball incident saw Limerick’s Nzvaura and Tralee’s O’Connor sent off.

Limerick FC continued to dominate and it came as no surprise when they extended their lead. Darragh Rainsford crossed into the box for Fatmadh Dunisha to volley a good goal. Steven McGann rounded off the scoring with the best goal of the evening. It followed excellent play on the right involving Scully, Rainsford and Dunisha, who squared the ball for McGann to unleash a fierce shot from 25 yards that flew into the bottom left corner.

Limerick FC: Stephen Walsh, Tinotenda Nzvaura (s/o 61), Alex Scully, Andrew Cowpar, Sean O’Callaghan, Steven McGann, Fatmadh Dunisha (Oliver O’Driscoll), James McGrath, Cian Collins (Colin Daly), Garbhan Coughlan, Darragh Rainsford (Cian Bourke).
Subs not used: Rafal Lubinski, Robert Shier.

Tralee Dynamos: Paul White, Shane Carey, Jonathan Hannafin, Wayne Dussan, Donnacha McGarry, David O’Sullivan, Aaron Houlihan, Scott Monaghan, Danny Roche, Darren O’Brien, Nigel O’Connor (s/o 61).
Subs: Robert Prenderville, Gerard O’Sullivan, and Anthony Burke.

Referee: Ralph Pieper.
Assistants: Robert Hennessy, Martin Kirby.

Match Report by Michael O’Sullivan