Limerick FC 4 – 0 Athlone Town

Dr Tony O’Neill Under 19 Championship – Southern Division


Limerick Scorers: Cian Collins, Barry Sheedy (2), Garbhan Coughlan.

Sunday 23rd October 2011

Limerick FC started the second round of the Under 19 National League with an impressive 4-0 victory over Athlone Town.

Limerick FC pressed early in this game and great vision by James McGrath picked out Garbhan Coughlan wide on the right but his shot hit the side netting. Minutes later Sean O’Callaghan made a strong clearing header that reached Cian Collins and he scored from six yards.

Athlone Town came more into the game with Brian Gill showing quality in the middle of the field. A long range shot went just wide of Shier’s post and later he popped up in the box only to have his shot smothered by Shier. After 25 minutes Limerick FC had a scare when Alex Gardiner broke the defensive line for a one on one with Shier, but the impressive O’Callaghan got back to make a timely tackle. The game swung back in favour of Limerick FC when a Barry Sheedy shot was spilled by Higgins, Fatmadh Dunisha following up played the ball back across the goal for Sheedy to side foot in.

The game was effectively over after five minutes of the second half when the Athlone Town left full passed back to his keeper, Higgins. After hesitating the keeper was closed down by Coughlan and his attempted clearance rebounded into the net.

Limerick FC were now in full control and Higgins was again at fault when Collins forced a hurried clearance that fell kindly to Sheedy who took full advantage of the unguarded goal.

At the close Shier made two excellent saves to maintain a clean sheet that he and his defence well deserved.

Limerick FC: Robert Shier, Michael Menton, Anthony O’Donnell, Tinotenda Nzvaura, Sean O’Callaghan (Andrew Cowpar), James McGrath, Alex Scully, Barry Sheedy, Cian Collins (Colin Daly), Garbhan Coughlan (Cian Bourke), Fatmadh Dunisha.
Subs not used: Darragh Rainsford, Oliver O’Driscoll, Stephen Walsh.

Athlone Town: Garreth Higgins, Josh Ferry, Seamus Byrne, Joe Wood, Ian Dempsey, Brian Gill, Luke Dunne, Alex Gardiner, Niall Boland, Ron King.
Subs: CJ Isjamas, Ciaran Clehane, Darren Donnelly, Cathal Tighe.

Referee: Ralph Pieper.