Limerick FC 3 – 0 Waterford United

Airtricity League First Division 

Limerick Scorers: Sean Brosnan (29), Pat Purcell (72), Denis Behan (90+3)

Saturday 29th October 2011

As the curtain fell on another season for Limerick FC, the much anticipated anti-climax came to pass as Limerick finished fourth despite a fantastic performance, beating Munster rivals Waterford United 3-0. Sean Brosnan, Pat Purcell and Denis Behan scored the goals to draw what has been a fantastic season for the Blues to a close.

A crowd of almost a thousand punters embraced Jackman Park on Friday evening with just the slightest of hope that Limerick may snatch the playoff spot from under the noses of Monaghan United. It was not to be, as Monaghan won their game 5-0. Those in attendance were not left wanting however, as Limerick produced a fantastically entertaining display for the Limerick public to enjoy.

The first effort of the game came from Limerick after just five minutes when Rory Gaffney mishit his cross which was intended for the far post. The resulting swerve almost caught out Kevin Burns in the United goal, the ball just dropping over the crossbar and out for a goal kick. Paudie Quinn, who has been somewhat of a sensation this year, was the first to test Burns in the Waterford goal. Optimistically setting up to shoot from twenty five yards, the ex-Fulham midfielder showed why he is so confident, making Burns stretch to tip his effort over the bar.

A long throw from Rory Gaffney almost caught Waterford napping, but luckily for them, captain Pat Purcell headed well wide after taking his eye off the ball for a split second. Limerick would only have to wait five more minutes for their opener. The tireless effort of Rory Gaffney on the left wing was a joy to behold for those in attendance. One of his poorer crosses arrived on the half hour mark, as it seemed to fly over everyone. Thankfully for Limerick, young Sean Brosnan arrived at the back post to volley across goal into the far corner to put the home side into the lead. If Limerick are to hold onto him for the forthcoming season, he will be a scorer of many goals, one would imagine.

As much as Brosnan’s goal was a contender for goal of the season, Paudie Quinn’s effort just past the thirty minute threshold would have grabbed the acclaim had it nestled into the bottom corner. Quinn struck it well from 30 yards, but he saw his effort smash off the woodwork. Limerick threatened to have the tie settled by half time.

Waterford’s main threat in the second half came via the adventurous Gary Dunphy. The midfielder constantly stood over the dead ball opportunities and just five minutes into the second half, could have made a contender for goal of the year himself. With a long run up, Dunphy went to strike a free kick from all of 40 yards but Barry Ryan was just about level to the effort. The second goal didn’t arrive until fifteen minutes from full time. From a corner facing the Clubhouse end, Purcell rose highest in the box to head home from very close range. There was very little anyone could have done to stop him scoring.

The local lad Denis Behan finished off the scoring in stoppage time. A corner again was the source of the goal. After a scramble from Purcell to try get his brace, Behan forced the ball home from all of one yard to ensure Limerick ended the season with seven wins on the trot.

Limerick FC: Barry Ryan, Shaun Kelly, John Frost, Corrie Treacy, Pat Purcell, Joseph Gamble, Jeffrey Judge (Steven McGann 72), Paudie Quinn (Shane Tracy 70), Denis Behan, Sean Brosnan (Stephen O’Flynn 62), Rory Gaffney.
Subs not used: David O’Leary, Brian McCarthy, Peter Hynes, Shane Cusack.

Waterford United: Kevin Burns, Paul Carey, Michael Coady, John Hayes (Dwayne Wilson h/t), David Breen, Paul Walsh (Jason Keane 85), Paul Phelan, Gary Dunphy, Seamus Long, Sean Maguire, Gary Keane (Jack Doherty 70).
Subs not used: Kenneth Browne, Thomas Whitty, Aidan McGrath, Sean Whitty.

Referee: Graham Kelly.

Official Attendance: 937.