Limerick FC 3 – 0 Finn Harps

Limerick FC Scorers: Shane Tracy (17), Stephen O’Flynn (27), Davy Ryan (79)

Finn Harps Scorers:

Friday 30th October 2009

Limerick FC ended their home games this season on a high after a convincing 3-0 victory over Finn Harps at Jackman Park tonight. First half goals from and Shane Tracy and Stephen O’Flynn gave Pat Scully’s side an earlier lead in an exciting end of season game. Substitute Davy Ryan added to Finn Harp’s miserly in the second half secure a 3-0 victory for the Shannonsiders.

In what was expected to be a typical lacklustre end of season game, Limerick started lively and their loyal supporters were reward with an untypical end of season performance. Limerick nearly opened their account as early as the fifth minute but Ciaran Gallagher was equal to John Tierney’s low effort. Limerick’s efforts were rewarded as early as the 15th minute when Shane Tracy shot low after John Tierney’s cross. Tracy’s effort was fumbled by Ciaran Gallagher to opening the scoring at Jackman Park.

Limerick were playing for pride and their determination was yet again rewarded in the 27th minute when the in-form Stephen O’Flynn doubled Limerick’s lead with a superb finish from close range. Finn Harps were on the back foot as Limerick looked for a third. Both Daryl Kavanagh and Shane Tracy were the most creative for Limerick in midfield. John Tierney came close in the 38th minute but effort was equalled by Ciaran Gallagher.

It was a case of a game of two halves as Finn Harps looked to close the gap in the second half as Limerick were forced to sit back and soak up their pressure. Shane Tracy was the provider for Limerick as he played through Daryl Kavanagh but his effort hit the side netting after 67 minutes of play. Finn Harps made changes and they came close with twenty minutes remaining but Pat Purcell cleared Limerick’s line to the delight of the home crowd.

Limerick regained control of the game and after Pat Scully introduced Davy Ryan and Robbie Kelleher, the home side push on for a third goal. Limerick defended well and they put the result beyond doubt in the 79th minute when Pat Scully’s side hit Finn Harps on the counter attack. After a scrabble in the Finn Harps penalty area substitute Davy Ryan slid low to slot the ball into the back of Finn Harp’s goal to make it 3-0 to the hosts.

Limerick secured 7th place with tonight’s victory but Pat Scully’s side will be looking forward to an improved season next year if recent form and victories are anything to go by.

Limerick FC: Dave Ryan, John Boyle, Gavin Roche, Brian O’Callaghan (Davy Ryan 69), Pat Purcell, Jason Hughes (Bobby Tier 60), Daryl Kavanagh, Wayne Colbert (Robbie Kelleher 74), Stephen O’Flynn, John Tierney, Shane Tracy.
Substitutes not used: Aaron Gilmartin, Ian Storan.

Finn Harps: Ciaran Gallagher, Ian Rossiter, Ciaran Coll (Sean Roddy 22), Packie Mailey, Michael Funston, Christy Conaghan (Mark Moran 76), Mark Forker, Mark Brolly, Conor Gethins (Fintan Bonner 81), Stephen McLaughlin.
Substitutes not used: Liam Mailey, Seamus Sharkey.

Referee: G. Kelly (Cork)

Attendance: Approx 300

Match report courtesy of