Limerick FC 1 – 2 Mervue United

Dr Tony O’Neill Under 20 Championship

Limerick Scorer: Shane Cusack.

Sunday 19th September 2010

This Under 20 game opened in heavy rain and a strong wind favouring Limerick FC for the first twenty minutes. Mervue United travelled with a strong team that contained six players that started in their First Division game last Friday night including Dan Cunningham, brother of Ireland and Manchester City player, Greg Cunningham.

Limerick had the best of the early exchanges and after 20 minutes opened their account with a bizarre goal. Goalkeeper Shane Cusack’s kick out carried on the wind and landed in the opposite penalty area where the bounce deceived Conor Gleeson in the Mervue goal and the ball was followed into the net by Cillian O’Connor and Cian Bourke. Brian McGorrian created a good chance for himself on 30 minutes but his shot was well saved. On 40 minutes Shane Cusack dived full stretch to divert a shot by Mike Elwood around the post. At half time it remained 1-0 to Limerick FC.

On the resumption Limerick sought to increase their lead and a shot by Cillian O’Connor was well saved by the Mervue keeper. The same player turned well on the ball after 20 minutes but his effort went wide at the near posr. In the space of ten minutes Mervue turned this game on its head. A free kick was spilled by Shane Cusack and Mike Collins pounced to score from close in. Shortly after Dan Cunningham hit a sweet strike from outside the box that flew into the bottom corner. Limerick FC pushed hard for an equaliser, but failed to make any clear cut chances. The physical strength of the Mervue side ensured they ran out 2-1 winners. Limerick’s man of the match was Sean O’Callaghan.

Limerick: Shane Cusack, Jamie Finn, James O’Brien, Sean O’Callaghan, Andrew Bhandarkar, Michael Sheehan, Luca Tedde (Philip Lavin), Brian McGorrian, Cillian O’Connor (Adam Mitchell), Cian Bourke, Fatmadh Dunisha (Steven McGann).
Unused Subs: Darren O’Neill, David Quinn.

Mervue United: Conor Gleeson, Martin Conneely, Dan Cunningham, Mike Elwood, James Crosserly, Noel Varley, Brian Connolly, Barry McEntee, Ena Curran, Mike Collins, Mark Ludden.
Subs: Andy Higgins, Bryan Kenny, Ryan Boyle, David Smyth, Dylan McConville.

Match Report by Michael O’Sullivan