FC Carlow 2 – 3 Limerick FC

Dr Tony O’Neill Under 19 Championship – Southern Division


Limerick Scorers: Darragh Rainsford, Cian Collins, Garbhan Coughlan.

Sunday 20th November 2011

Limerick FC retain their position at the top of the table following a 3-2 win away to FC Carlow. Both teams can take due credit for a very entertaining game played at the impressive Bunclody AFC sports complex.

Limerick FC pressed from early on and Darragh Rainsford forced a save from Kevin Duncan in the Carlow goal after 10 minutes. Shortly after Alex Scully broke up a good Carlow move and played a great ball forward to Cian Collins who put Rainsford through for the opening goal. Limerick FC’s game plan was disrupted after half an hour when Andrew Cowpar, playing at center half, had to go off and was replaced by Kevin Noonan.

FC Carlow dominated for a while and Paul Devereux played an inviting ball across the box that Chris Fennor should have converted. In follow up play Liam Hickey put Fennor in and this time he made no mistake with a fierce drive from close range.

As the game edged towards half time Limerick FC struck again. Anthony O’Donnell made good progress up the left and when his cross came in Rainsford cleverly headed back across goal for Cian Collins to volley in to give Limerick the lead at half time.

The second half started with FC Carlow forcing the pace. Steven Walsh made a good save with his legs and comfortably held the subsequent corner. Carlow’s Conor McCarney was a threat all game and again fed a good ball across the box that Fennor put just wide of the far post.

Limerick FC then had their period of dominance. Rainsford crossed wide to Barry Sheedy and his ball back in was touched just wide by Coughlan under pressure. Duncan then parried a shot from Sheedy and Coughlan following up made it 3-1.

FC Carlow, to their credit, raised their game and pulled a goal back after Hickey got in behind the Limerick defence to set up the impressive Fennor for his and Carlow’s second. This led to a tense and exciting last 20 minutes with both sides creating chances, the best falling to Carlow, when McCarney headed on from a long throw and in a goal mouth scramble the ball went wide of the post.

Limerick FC: Stephen Walsh, Alex Scully, Athony O’Donnell, Andrew Cowpar (Vincent Noonan), Michael Menton, Steven McGann, Darragh Rainsford, James McGrath, Cian Collins, Garbhan Coughlan (Colin Daly), Fatmadh Dunisha (Barry Sheedy).
Subs not used: Rafal Lubinski, Oliver O’Driscoll, Robert Shier.

FC Carlow:Kevin Duncan, Adam Flemming, Andy O’Gorman, Cillian Cantwell, James Kenny, Mark Lyons, Conor McCarney, Paul Devereux, Chris Fennor, Joseph Sunderland, Liam Hickey.
Subs: Joseph Keohane, David Howe and Adam Farrell.

Referee: Andrew Mullally.
Assistants: Martin Moules, Michael O’Connor.