Cobh Ramblers 3 – 0 Limerick FC

Dr Tony O’Neill Under 19 Championship – Southern Division



Sunday 11th March 2012

This game was billed a title decider for Limerick FC if they won. However Cobh Ramblers had other ideas and got themselves back into contention with Limerick FC and Tralee Dynamos for the league title with two series of games left.

In the first half, Limerick FC got an early chance as Barry Sheedy found Darragh Rainsford wide on the right, his cross was contested by Tino Nzvaura and the Cobh keeper gathered at the second attempt.

On ten minutes the home side scored the opener. Daniel Santry won the ball from Andrew Cowpar on the right and his inch perfect cross found Josh Murphy unmarked and he confidently headed well beyond the reach of Stephen Walsh.

Shortly after, Cian Collins had an effort that looked destined for the top corner, but Shane Hallahan, the Cobh keeper, made a terrific save. At the other end Walsh had to be alert to save smartly from Santry.

As the game approached half time Hallahan came to the edge of the area to punch away a cross by Rainsford. The breaking ball fell to James McGrath who saw his lob cleared off the line.

Limerick FC started the second half in search of an equaliser. Vinny Noonan got in behind the defence to get on the end of a Rainsford free, but his shot was smothered by the keeper.

Cobh Ramblers got their vital second goal on 70 minutes, Cowpar miss-timed a header and when Nzvaura failed to get a touch, Santry pounced to finish well.

Almost on the final whistle Cobh again capitalised on a mix-up in the Limerick defence as Jason Dunphy got his side’s third.

Cobh Ramblers: Shane Hallahan, Adam Thompson, Paul Ronan, Eoin Hastings, Brendan Frahill, Jason Abbott, Kevin Mullane, Dylan McNamara, Daniel Santry, Josh Murphy, David Curran.
Subs: Alan O’Flynn, Jason Dunphy, Derek Kearney, Cian van Wijnen, Evan O’Donovan, Lloyd Spillane, Cillian Tallon.

Limerick FC: Stephen Walsh, Vincent Noonan, Anthony O’Donnell, Tinotenda Nzvaura, Andrew Cowpar, Tony Whitehead (Oliver O’Driscoll), Darragh Rainsford (Garbhan Coughlan), James McGrath, Cian Collins, Colin Daly, Barry Sheedy.
Subs not used: Michael Menton, Fatmadh Dunisha, Aidan Boyle, Alex Scully, Robert Shier.

Referee: Damien Clear.

Match Report by Michael O’Sullivan